Climbing Stands

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

EarlyBird

Climbing Stands

Unread postby EarlyBird » Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:01 am

Hi everyone, new to the beast, what a great site and a ton of new information. I recently bought 110 acres in Ohio and I am new to Hill Country Hunting, I did buy Dan's video on Hill country hunting (awesome btw). I have found several Buck beds on my property and recently kicked up a very large bodied deer, when I investigated his bed it was very large with a couple of very big rubs close by. My question is does anyone use climbing stands to hunt beast style? if so Pro's and Con's. Thanks in advance.

JAK
500 Club

Re: Climbing Stands

Unread postby JAK » Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:51 am

If i have trees suitable for climbers I prefer to us them . Pros: I feel there lighter and easier to set up
Cons: your limited to limbless trees. Finding enough cover could be a issue in the limbless trees as well.
FRH
500 Club

Unread postby FRH » Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:39 am

When scouting I'll mark which beds i can hunt using a climber. 90% of the time i'm taking stand and sticks. Only reason i have the hand climber is i got a good deal on it so feel obligated to use at a couple times a year.
jteulker
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/josh.teulker/p ... 02133&sour

Unread postby jteulker » Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:42 am

Ive killed my 2 biggest deer with a climbing by slipping in on them. Going to try out the hang on for the first time this year!! Welcome to the form you will enjoy it.
sureshotscott
500 Club

Unread postby sureshotscott » Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:49 am

Climbing stands tend to be susceptible to emitting loud metallic sounds. Also, since they require limbless trees not often found near bedding areas they aren't the popular choice. I still own a couple of climbing stands but find they get used less and less as I learn more about HB style hunting.