Getting out of “the thick”

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

NH Teufelhund

Getting out of “the thick”

Unread postby NH Teufelhund » Sat Feb 10, 2018 10:52 am

Hey fellas, this is my first post! Im a self taught guy, no family or friends have taught me anything, I just always had a burning desire to bow hunt. I finished my 4th season, and have one buck so far but I read everything I can on here and bought the swamp DVD.

Here’s my question - so far my primary lesson every year is to get deeper. I’ve gone from being a dumby and sitting dead center in the timber to hunting the edge. And now I’m about to go IN the swamps next year and hunt like a beast as best I can. But how do I get out? Do you guys use headlamps? Do you use white or red lights? How do you stay quite getting out of the middle of a damn swamp?

Boogieman1
500 Club

Re: Getting out of “the thick”

Unread postby Boogieman1 » Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:13 am

Getting out quiet is not near as important as getting in silent. Your first sit is your best shot! Most don't hunt a spot more than once unless unusual circumstances. Most folks who have never been taught the wrong stuff tend to do better so your being self taught is prob a blessing. As a old coach used to say, I would rather have a guy who knows jack squat and start from scratch then have to deal with years of bad technique and teachings that they all seem to fall back on come crunch time. Good luck this season 8-)
Life is hard; It’s even harder if you are stupid.
-John Wayne-
headgear
500 Club

Unread postby headgear » Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:16 am