Urban Areas Small woodlot buck staging areas

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Crawdad31

Urban Areas Small woodlot buck staging areas

Unread postby Crawdad31 » Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:33 am

I hunt a lot of public land and public access land and a little private land in PA, the public access stuff is a lot of times bow only due to being in urban areas and small properties ranging from 80 acres to 28 acres. I wanted to open up a discussion and about buck bedding and staging areas in urban areas with small properties. I have been doing the urban property thing for 8 years or so and Ive killed a bunch of doe, just havent sealed the deal on a mature buck. I had missed a giant in the 150's about 4-5 years ago, wounded a 130's as a 3.5 year old that survived and blew up the next year and has since disappeared completely last season, I had another buck in the 140's that busted me this year. while trying to get turned around in the stand after grabbing the bow. (I wasnt even completely set up and almost pulled it off). Anyway, a lot of times, these bucks bed on different parcels just across the street and I dont have permission to hunt those parcels. So sometimes getting close to the bedding is tough. I have done well seeing these bucks in day light between October 17th and the 22nd. Sometimes during rifle season I do ok seeing these bucks in day light, our rifle season is usually, the first two weeks of December. It starts the Monday after Thanksgiving. I still have to hunt with a bow during that time though which is fine and probably explains why I see them. Thats the background