Leeward hillside approach

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

rempse2

Leeward hillside approach

Unread postby rempse2 » Mon Oct 16, 2017 12:44 pm

I've been contemplating the approach to one of my new spots. I have a leeward hillside facing east/south east, with the predominant November winds blowing from the west/north west, so it sets up nicely for rut cruising. I scouted in March and found the 1/3 elevation line littered with doe bedding and sign with a plenty of historical rubs and a few rubs from this past fall.

There is a hiking trail that I see as offering me access with the least amount of disturbance. It comes up the hillside so I would be traveling from east to west up the hillside which is fairly steep in spots. I'm not expecting deer to be traveling this trail but they do cross it. Now I'm a newbie when it comes to playing the wind in the hills so I'm wondering about the effectiveness of this approach.

I'm planning on climbing the hill in the predawn darkness and I know I'll leave ground scent on the trail but figure it will be in a place where the deer are accustomed to smelling it and figure it shouldn't be too much of a disturbance. Once at the proper elevation I plan on waiting just off the trail so the thermals that would be falling would be pulling my scent back down where I came from. Once it begins to get daylight I plan on moving in from the side and slipping into my spot. This will be a gun hunt so I figure I'll be able to get a shot at any potential cruisers before they hit the trail I came in on.