Bumping a buck from his home area

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Muncy

Bumping a buck from his home area

Unread postby Muncy » Sun Sep 10, 2017 9:39 am

I have a question in regards to bumping a buck from his home base area. Before getting into the specifics I just want to say that I'm new to this Hunting Beast forum. I love all the content and the information shared here. I'm glad I stumbled across this forum when I did as I am a highly motivated to become a better, more knowledgeable hunter and can hopefully pass it on to my son and daughter.
I have a very nice 4 1/2-5 1/2 yr old buck on my property which my son/I saw in person last rifle season. We've gotten several trail cam pictures of him and and he is currently our number one target. I believe i have bumped him out of his core area through some projects ive done recently to enhance our opportunities. I spent about 2 hours with my son moving a tripod stand into some cover, trimmimg some branches and weed wacking a path to it about 30 yrds through crp. As we started this project I had an aha moment where we found what is probably one of his beds in a small Popple/Evergreen thicket 30 yards square. Also found 2 other large beds close by near other mature spruce trees. I never could figure out exactly where his core area was but I'm sure this is it. Its the highest point of the property with good sightlines and cover. it happens to be where the old farmhouse was. House is now gone and now its crp with a few mature evergreens. Property is 40 acres square. Theres 70 acres crp East of me, 17 acre popple woods south of me across a drainage ditch, 70 acre farmland west. No one hunts in those areas adjacent to my property. Across gravel road North of me there are "Brown its down" hunters.