Rolling Hill, Agriculture , Cedar thickets, Lakes and CRP

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

MattyJ
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/matthew.johnson.7798

Rolling Hill, Agriculture , Cedar thickets, Lakes and CRP

Unread postby MattyJ » Thu Aug 24, 2017 2:53 am

I am very new to this style of hunting. I have done a lot of scouting during shed season but never with the primary focus on beds. I hunt in the flint hills in north central Kansas. The areas I hunt are primary around lakes/ ponds. There are rolling hills, pockets of cedars, agriculture fields tons of crp. Is there any good threads or videos on finding bedding in locations like this? I looked through the tactical threads and found some stuff. Below is a picture of a piece that illustrates what I am talking about. Rolling hills, Not huge elevation changes, cedars, agg and oaks spread out. In that lower area (cedars and oaks) when it does open up their is thick under growth almost like bushes. its nearly impossible to walk through it. No visible trails. It doesn't seem like good bedding because its impossible to walk through. It seems like the deer avoid it. I know for a fact that their is a big buck living somewhere in the area because in the early season the last 2 years I have got him on trail camera. He is old public land buck. Seems to be crazy smart and hard to pin down. Dan has talked about how if their isnt a lot of competition their may not be a lot of sign (rubs and scrapes). In this area there is virtually no competition. A good amount of does and only a few small bucks during the rut. Transition lines in cover type might be my best bet but any advice would be greatly appreciated. I also included a topo/sat hybrid for reference (the "road" through the lower section does not exist anymore. It must be an old sat image).

Last edited by MattyJ on Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:09 am, edited 1 time in total.