Washington State White Tail Hunting

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

kudersmotors

Washington State White Tail Hunting

Unread postby kudersmotors » Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:12 pm

Hello everyone. I'm new to deer hunting and definitely new to bow hunting. I have been doing a lot of research on both compound bows and deer hunting and am getting ready to start scouting for deer. But there lies my problem, not real sure where to even start here in Washington State. I live in central Washington and it is mostly desert sand dunes sage brush and fields with lots of Mule Deer and spot and stalk type of hunting, which is alright with me and I will most likely be doing that as well, but I would really like to do some tree stand hunting for white tail deer. I just don't know where to start and was curios if there was some one on this forum who has hunted Washington State and could send me in the right direction to get started.

Thanks!

Jonny
500 Club

Re: Washington State White Tail Hunting

Unread postby Jonny » Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:17 pm

Welcome!

Never been out there but I would definitely look for low areas. If there are river bottoms I would check those. Whitetails don't like the wide open areas like mule deer. Gotta find those thick areas they like.

I think the Dakotas and Montana are similar, and guys I know who hunt those states really talk about hunting bottomlands. Not much of it is public, but you won't see whitetails outside those areas
You have a monkey Mr. Munson?
kudersmotors

Unread postby kudersmotors » Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:37 pm

Thanks for the quick reply and info Jonny. I'm going to give it a look on google earth for thick tree areas at lower end of river beds near me and if I find an area maybe it'll be a good Idea to post an aerial photo of the area and see what you guys all think of it. Ill be sure its public land before posting.
cedarsavage
500 Club