saddle vs hang on

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Waymore

saddle vs hang on

Unread postby Waymore » Sun Jan 08, 2017 5:28 am

A lot of great hunters here and it seems like the majority here use hang ons. Considering the style of hunting here is being mobile have you tried or considered a saddle? Walking long ways through thick areas the saddle will reduce the carry weight and bulk and make it easier to travel. Maybe quieter also. I am curious because I am trying to dial in a system. I have been using a climber for the past many years but see the need for an alternative. Obviously the main guy Dan uses a hang on and has had great success. I have read some books from John Eberhart who also has had great sucess and he mentions if it wasnt for a saddle his kills would be far less.

Dewey

Re: saddle vs hang on

Unread postby Dewey » Sun Jan 08, 2017 5:42 am

I hunted with a saddle for a few years before discovering LW stand/sticks and decided it just wasn't for me so I sold it. Nothing against them and they definitely have their advantages but I much prefer a hang on stand.
Ghost Hunter

Unread postby Ghost Hunter » Sun Jan 08, 2017 6:03 am

They advertise saddle well. But I've never understood it. When you move your whole body has to move. Bark falling from tree, hitting limbs etc. I just do not really understand it.
I'm reason they call it hunting and not shooting.
Lastcast#1

Unread postby Lastcast#1 » Sun Jan 08, 2017 6:11 am

Probably more of a personal preference...I began deer hunting out of a saddle and will never get out of one...I feel the advantages are many..And frankly, they are just plain fun to hunt out of..I have the Newtribe aerohunter evo and love it...Very comfortable....Definitely try a saddle out and decide for yourself.

Chad
Ghost Hunter

Unread postby Ghost Hunter » Sun Jan 08, 2017 6:22 am

Do you use tree steps?