Season Is done

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Schultzy
500 Club

Season Is done

Unread postby Schultzy » Sat Jan 01, 2011 1:41 pm

The Minnesota archery deer season came to a close today. I've been bowhunting for 25 years. 15 years ago I sold my compound and picked up a custom made take down recurve that I still use today. This year Is the 1st year that I did not take a deer with It. Hunting In a one tag area makes deer hunting a at times but that's how It goes. It's not that I didn't have chances as I passed up many, many opportunities at doe's up until 10 days ago. In the last 2 weeks we've gotten right around 2 feet of snow that added to the previous 10 Inches we already had. 95% of the deer that were living In the woods I hunt packed up their bags and went looking for food. Deer hunting the last 10 days has been very tough. Deer sightings were very few and far between. I've never took a deer from the ground with my recurve so I figured why not challenge myself. The last 2 weeks I committed to only doing ground sits. 2 evenings ago I had 2 doe's and a doe fawn at about 25 yards but I just didn't feel right In taking that far of a shot. 20 to 22 yards Is my max comfort zone usually. Had a few 1.5 year old bucks with In range but they'll get a pass regardless. Saw some other doe's and fawns but nothing was ever remotely close.