still hunting in the rain

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Facebook: Reuben holombo

still hunting in the rain

Unread postby Sticky » Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:34 pm

its is supposed to be a rainy few days in upstate sc so I was going to still hunt any good tactic to keep in mind while still hunting will be appreciated

mauser06
500 Club

Re: still hunting in the rain

Unread postby mauser06 » Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:52 pm

I'm by no means a pro or expert. Actually probably pretty lousy at it lol.

Go slow. If you think you are going slow go even slower. It's almost painful.

In hill country I like to follow the top 1/3 I like to stay above that but below the crest of the hill. I try to stay above the deer. Try to use the terrain to your advantage and keep the wind and thermals in mind.

After that I try to focus on transition edges. Here it's hardwoods/hemlock or hardwoods/Laurel or Laurel/rhododendron or timber/cut.

A good rainy day is nice. Just watch your movement...I find myself moving much quicker because I can walk so quietly and they see me long before I see them and I get to see tails.

I did OK today..I could have dropped 4 doe. I had 2 more sightings..1 I couldn't ID and could have killed but never seen its head though I'm 90% sure was a decent buck. The other I had dead in my scope but couldn't see a rack due to the sun. As he took off I'm 90% sure he did have a decent rack on his head..I couldn't be sure and didn't have another good shot opportunity.

It's a form of hunting I enjoy and am making efforts to get better at.

Good luck!!

[ Post made via Android ] Image

Unread postby Sticky » Wed Nov 30, 2016 4:07 pm

thanks and I will keep these things in mind
dagger

Unread postby dagger » Wed Nov 30, 2016 4:14 pm