Better Topo Maps

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

bobbo1686

Better Topo Maps

Unread postby bobbo1686 » Tue Aug 16, 2016 11:21 pm

I'm a new member here and as I stated in my introduction to the group I am a GIS analyst. I use, create, and analyze maps and their component data on a daily basis for work. However, I also use them religiously for hunting. One problem I've found is that generally the topo maps out there that are found online or even those for purchase just don't have the detail that we as hunters need to fine tune our setups or to see the real picture of what is happening on the ground. Generally most mapping can get us in the area but then boots on the ground are needed to ground truth our desktop reviews. This is where I have taken mapping to the next level and create 5' or even 2' contours for my hunting spots or those I'm going to check out. This helps me get a much clearer picture of what's happening in hilly country and even flat swamp land where topo maps are generally not as helpful as aerials. I have included a sample of a typical 24K topo map and then in the other picture I have my 5' contours overlaid on the same topo. I can create this data in a PDF format with included property lines if available, which you could print out. I can also get this out in a KMZ format which can be used in Google Earth to get a better understanding of the true terrain in your area. Google Earth is only has accurate as their data. If you've ever looked at Google Earth in a wooded area and there is a clear-cut it will appear as though there is a depression because Google used data based on the canopy height and not the ground height. Take a look and PM me if you're interested.ImageImage

DaveT1963
500 Club

Re: Better Topo Maps

Unread postby DaveT1963 » Wed Aug 17, 2016 12:39 am