How early do you like to be setup?

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

MNHUNTER23

How early do you like to be setup?

Unread postby MNHUNTER23 » Tue Aug 16, 2016 1:29 pm

Lets say your planning on setting up within 100 yards of a buck bed that's a mile back into a swamp on opening day. What time would you guys want to be setup in the stand for an evening hunt? I'm just getting into the beast style and wondering if you guys do things any different than I would do. I would want to be setup no later than 5:30 typically. How do you like to do it?

Dewey

Re: How early do you like to be setup?

Unread postby Dewey » Tue Aug 16, 2016 1:41 pm

I'm usually headed in by noon. I like to go slow and enjoy my time on stand especially on opening day. I rarely sit less than 5 hrs on an evening hunt no matter what. Getting out late and rushing ruins most bed hunts before they even start. I believe the closer you get to prime time the more alert the bucks will be. Typically mid-afternoon winds can cover a lot of your noise and die down as you get closer to dark making it much harder to sneak in.

[ Post made via iPhone ] Image
Bogle

Unread postby Bogle » Tue Aug 16, 2016 1:54 pm

I agree with Dewey but it depends on the location. If I can wait till two hours before dusk to slip in, I will. However, most places require me to leave by about 12:00 noon due to distance and leaves on the ground.Even when I start that early I often feel like I am late when I get to the tree.

[ Post made via iPad ] Image
purebowhunting
500 Club

Unread postby purebowhunting » Tue Aug 16, 2016 1:56 pm

I'm in agreement with Dewey. Outside of the deer being more alert later in the afternoon, I hate having people on public know where I'm headed or walk past someone so being first to leave the parking lot and the last to return helps avoid unwanted conversation and people seeing what you're doing.
Dewey