How Would You Hunt This?

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

BA-IV

How Would You Hunt This?

Unread postby BA-IV » Sun May 08, 2016 2:29 am

How would you hunt this exactly?

It's a long leaf southern pine plantation with thick underbrush everywhere BUT this little spot is a group of oaks and blowdowns that's been damaged by the last hurricane and it's THICK. I remember last year going in and cut an oak for firewood and seeing a lot of rubs nothing huge but it seemed like deer were bedding in there. How would you hunt it and with what wind? I'll go look at it in the next couple of days.

I'm new to the Beast style of bed hunting, it's not hill country or marsh just southern pine plantation so the it's hard to decipher for me just what to do based off what you guys are posting. That L shape is a fence line with another ok e thicket belongin to a neighbor. The spot I'm speaking of is the ultra green spot in the dull green forest.

[ Post made via iPhone ] Image

TNstalker

Re: How Would You Hunt This?

Unread postby TNstalker » Sun May 08, 2016 2:36 am

Got a topo view?

Hawthorne
500 Club

Unread postby Hawthorne » Sun May 08, 2016 2:45 am

I would scout the interior transitions on foot to find beds. Then plan out your hunt from there. I see some open areas those I would look at first at the transition line. There might be beds right in the corner of that road also if its thick enough

[ Post made via Android ] Image
Last edited by Hawthorne on Sun May 08, 2016 2:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
BA-IV

Unread postby BA-IV » Sun May 08, 2016 2:47 am

Where the crosshairs are is where the spot is.

TNstalker

Unread postby TNstalker » Mon May 09, 2016 10:51 pm