Hill Country Access

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Jeff25

Hill Country Access

Unread postby Jeff25 » Sat Apr 02, 2016 4:02 am

When you are hunting a bed on a point how do you all prefer to access? do you walk down the top of the ridge or come up from the bottom? just using this pic as an example with the red being the bed and preferred wind direction how would you accessImage

wrusch

Re: Hill Country Access

Unread postby wrusch » Sat Apr 02, 2016 6:43 am

I would access carefully 8-) . In all seriousness though, If you access from the bottom, he will see you coming and grab your thermal. If you access from the top he could get your wind coming over the top of the ridge. I am fairly new to Hill Country but I have had luck hunting the exit trails coming out of the bed by accessing from the top and making sure I am off to the side enough so the wind doesn't go to him but close enough to the bed to catch him in daylight. Have you watched the Hill Country DVD?
Jeff25

Unread postby Jeff25 » Sat Apr 02, 2016 8:17 am

I guess I was meaning access from the top of the ridge until to got to the point then stalk down the point level with the bed

[ Post made via iPhone ] Image
Zona
500 Club

Unread postby Zona » Sat Apr 02, 2016 1:06 pm

I would need to know where the buck is most likely going when leaving his bed before picking my access. Some will drop straight down off the point, some might take the ridgeline north or some other route. That saddle to the north of the bed looks like a yummy rut spot to me.

[ Post made via Android ] Image
JoeRE
500 Club

Unread postby JoeRE » Sun Apr 03, 2016 12:42 am