Ohio Observations

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

SamPotter
500 Club

Ohio Observations

Unread postby SamPotter » Fri Dec 11, 2015 10:24 am

I've been hunting at my friend's place in SE Ohio for a few years now. He has 350 acres of woods with some agriculture on neighboring properties 1/2 mile north. The place is crawling with deer. As many of you may know, baiting is allowed in Ohio. It seems like every person that hunts has a spin feeder out back. I shot a doe down there last week and it was literally the fattest deer I've ever butchered in my life. I felt like I was skinning a bear- I couldn't even grip the hide she was so greasy. Her gut was full of corn and she had dingle berries from such a rich diet.

My friend owns 3 spin feeders, but hasn't run them the past 2 years. Despite that, there was no shortage of deer seen (10 at a time on occasion) or mature bucks. What I really clued in on this year was that the property seemed to be almost 100% devoid of deer when I was headed to a tree in the morning darkness, but around dawn they'd start trickling back to bed on any one of the various hills on the property. Then, an hour or so before dark they'd be up again and headed off the property to feed at neighbor's feeders. Based on prior years when my friend did run feeders, most of the activity at the feeders was after dark anyhow.

What I liked best was the ability to sneak into good spots in the wee hours of the morning and not bump deer because they aren't even there yet. Based on this, I've decided it's best to let the neighbor's keep the local feed store in business and reap the benefits.

So I guess the moral of the story is that if you had to choose, it is better to own the bedding than the feed...

Here's a map that shows observed deer movement (either from a tree or a trail camera):

Jed33

Re: Ohio Observations