Michigan Public land. Need some help learning.

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

johndeere506
500 Club

Michigan Public land. Need some help learning.

Unread postby johndeere506 » Tue Dec 01, 2015 8:33 am

Ive started finding new areas the past couple years here. One has decent potential, confirmed by rubs and a few cam pics. The other is a highly pressure area, with low density. I took a buddy out yesterday to the second area, and we saw 15+ deer, because of where I took him. I studied maps, went there once, studied maps more, and went back yesterday. No other hunters were seeing deer, so we did good, even though no bucks were seen. But, Im not hunting deer
Im hunting good bucks (quote Dan). I found some isolated areas, with big "old" rubs, but saw no bucks. How do you choose to keep hunting this place, or cross it off the list? Cams? Fresh tracks? Sightings? Or all of those? Once I start to learn an area I feel its just a matter of time, but Im not seeing any "this years" mature buck sign. Move on?

We screwed up the evening sit, otherwise he could have shot his first buck. It wasnt huge, but was good enough for his first.

MI public is tough hunting. Guys like WTassassin really have me wondering how the heck they do it...

Hawthorne
500 Club

Re: Michigan Public land. Need some help learning.

Unread postby Hawthorne » Tue Dec 01, 2015 8:57 am

This was my first year hunting public in Jackson and washtenaw counties. The hunting was tough. I had one spot where I was seeing deer and for some reason it looked like nobody was hunting in that area. Some of the other spots I was hiking in to the hardest to get to spots and was seeing nothing and it looked people has been hunting it. State ground in the southern part is tough. All I can say is scout, scout, and scout some more.

[ Post made via Android ] Image
cedarsavage
500 Club
Facebook: No facebook