Always 30 yards short

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Sf22nd

Always 30 yards short

Unread postby Sf22nd » Thu Nov 05, 2015 1:56 pm

This is my first year in trying to transition to beast style hunting. I can't say that I am hunting beds every hunt but I have my Lone Wolf stand and hunting a different spot every time. Early season I was hunting along transitions with recent sign and now during the rut, I'm focusing on saddles in hill country. I've been seeing more deer than ever but they all seem to be just too far away. I live in an area with very low deer density but I see bucks almost every time out, a couple of them being really large bucks. I just can't seem to close the distance. Is this normal? Am I the only one?

isitseasonyet?
500 Club

Re: Always 30 yards short

Unread postby isitseasonyet? » Thu Nov 05, 2015 1:59 pm

I have also been struggling with this but each time I seem to get closer, I think we will be fine, it just takes experience to pick the right tree.. a large part of it is seeing mature bucks now we just gotta close the distance, stay patient and confident and it will happen!

[ Post made via Android ] Image
Kraftd
500 Club

Unread postby Kraftd » Thu Nov 05, 2015 2:16 pm

Couple of thoughts/Suggestions.

1. This was discussed on the Live from the Stand Thread, but this time of year if you see a buck come through early on a trail just out of range, reposition if possible. Often times it may be consistent all day. May have been a hot doe com through. I killed a good one last year making this move.

2. Don't be afraid of calling. A grunt, bleat, or even snort wheeze may be just the ticket to bring them a little further if needed. I've grunted in and killed this year and rattled in an killed, both shots inside of 10 yards.