Tips and Tricks for the Rut

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Skyler

Tips and Tricks for the Rut

Unread postby Skyler » Mon Oct 26, 2015 5:00 pm

I have been bowhunting for a few years now and this is the first real year that I will be able to hunt the rut. I was curious if anyone had any suggestions when it comes to grunting, bleats, rattling, doe estrus/pee, wicks, drag rags or anything like that. Do you guys use any of that, or is a lot of it pointless to bring to the woods. Any insight would be awesome. Thanks!

HoosierG5
500 Club

Re: Tips and Tricks for the Rut

Unread postby HoosierG5 » Mon Oct 26, 2015 10:08 pm

Lots of variables here...weather and cover being two biggest.

Weather-I love to rattle on windy days. I try to wait for a slow down in the breeze and rattle loud, but only if I do not see deer in front of me. If a buck walks thru out of range as soon as he cant see me I will try to get him interested with a rattle or grunt sequence.

Cover-Ive used a decoy with success in open areas but lugging them around stink. In thick cover I call every 15-30 minutes with a bleat or grunt or rattle depending on what Im seeing.

[ Post made via iPhone ] Image
Wlog
500 Club

Unread postby Wlog » Mon Oct 26, 2015 10:59 pm

I personally have never had much luck with scents. I only take a grunt call. I usually only call if I see a buck that is moving away from me.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.
seazofcheeze
500 Club

Unread postby seazofcheeze » Tue Oct 27, 2015 12:32 am

Wlog wrote:I personally have never had much luck with scents. I only take a grunt call. I usually only call if I see a buck that is moving away from me.

x2. With the exception that I have had luck on a few occasions by rattling next to cornfields at first light.
Findian
500 Club

Unread postby Findian » Tue Oct 27, 2015 1:04 am