Lowest draw weight you would hunt deer with?

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

johndeere506
500 Club

Lowest draw weight you would hunt deer with?

Unread postby johndeere506 » Sat Jul 11, 2015 2:04 am

So Ive been having some shoulder issues for over a year now. Last fall it was partially coming out of the socket (sublaxing) as many as 50 times per day, not shooting a bow. I stopped target shooting, and hunted the rest of season with a crossbow. I was not impressed going to physical therapy, so Ive been hitting the gym 1-2 times per week to re-balance and strengthen. I havent pulled my bow at all yet. What the lowest weight you would consider hunting with? I used to shoot 65-70lbs on my Spyder 30, not the smoothest draw cycle but not bad either.

Im a self taught archer. I have a feeling the way I was drawing all along was straining my shoulder too hard, and the other injuries Ive had.

So, how low in weight would you go only shooting bigger bucks? I LOVE my compound and maybe Im just too stubborn to give it up too. Doc basically said hang it up last fall, but its gotten a lot better since then.

wmihunter

Re: Lowest draw weight you would hunt deer with?

Unread postby wmihunter » Sat Jul 11, 2015 2:25 am

35 or 40 lbs

[ Post made via iPhone ] Image
Ghost Hunter

Unread postby Ghost Hunter » Sat Jul 11, 2015 2:26 am

Here the minimum is 40 lbs. With today's bow I don't see that as a problem. But I don't think I would go below 50.

[ Post made via Android ] Image
I'm reason they call it hunting and not shooting.
Hawthorne
500 Club

Unread postby Hawthorne » Sat Jul 11, 2015 2:32 am

I shoot 52lb with only a 27" draw Bowtech and have had no provlem killing deer. With today's technology 40-45 pounds would be no problem either. I would use a razor sharp fixed blade head tho

stash59

Unread postby stash59 » Sat Jul 11, 2015 2:35 am