Aging/hanging those deer

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Uncle Lou

Aging/hanging those deer

Unread postby Uncle Lou » Thu Dec 04, 2014 11:51 am

I have been a self butchering deer guy for a longtime, since I shot my second deer in 1995.

I always liked to hang them for a while and heard and read many things on the subject for some time. But I stumbled on an article a few years back and it really helped my hanging routine. I think it was chef Milo in Michigan WoodsNWater, if not I apologize to the author, but it was very scientific on the aging of venison before you cut it up. Even as a scientist I cant remember the details, but I remember the important part.

14 days

That is how long you should hang them before you cut them up and eat them. Ideal hanging temp is 38-40 degrees.

Now granted you cant always do this without the proper facilities, but November in the upper Midwest it is pretty good hanging weather. I hang them in my shed and I have had them freeze, and have had weather in 50s. But with the hide on and temps +/- 40 degrees is excellent hanging weather. I also have an infrared thermometer I use to help monitor. You can pick them up in many local auto parts stores.

One other thing I do is rinse out the cavity with vinegar and water most times. Clean meat is key. I bone my meat, and never take it to a place where there are a lot of deer. I walked in a local processing shop a couple years ago, as a guy in town that sells beer always asks me to take him my deer and was eager to show me his processing facility. I obliged and when I entered the area about puked with the smell of rancid gut shot deer. I really like the guy but will never take a deer anywhere near where many deer go.