Tips For Mobile Hunting With the LW Stand On Your Back?

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Stuart
500 Club

Tips For Mobile Hunting With the LW Stand On Your Back?

Unread postby Stuart » Mon Sep 27, 2010 7:28 am

Dan has had success with "Blind Hunts" and by this I mean going into areas that you have not pre-scouted a lot before hand and setting up on hot sign.

I am still new to this so do you have any tips Dan and anybody else that has had success?

Do you set up where you are seeing a lot of fresh tracks?

Sit on the exit trails to fields?

Thanks,
Stuart

dan
Site Owner
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HuntingBeast/?ref=bookmarks

Re: Tips For Mobile Hunting With the LW Stand On Your Back?

Unread postby dan » Mon Sep 27, 2010 8:01 am

Most of my success on blind hunts comes from walking transition lines and setting up on sign...
For instance, with acorns covering the ridges, and no acorns in the marsh's or swamps, following the transition where the oak ridges meet the marsh and then setting up when you find sign coming out can be very successful. If it don't work the 1st set, next day start off where you hunted last and move until you hit fresh sign again.
Big bucks are loners a lot of the time so I don't look just for heavy trails, more for big buck sign or subtle sign...
You can enhance your success by using a topo and skipping strait to certain land features...
In hill country I would expect most mature buck bedding to be off of the points, specifically the points where the wind is blowing down the point and over the valley...