Waterfowl and Pheasant hunting effects...

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Lockdown

Waterfowl and Pheasant hunting effects...

Unread postby Lockdown » Sun Sep 28, 2014 3:41 am

Today is opening day for waterfowl hunting in MN. This is my first year hunting buck beds, and I've got a few beds located in areas that also receive pressure from duck hunters and pheasant hunters. I know it is somewhat of a loaded question and can vary a lot depending on distances and amount of pressure, but, how much do these shotgun hunters effect big bucks as far as the bucks still getting up and moving about their staging area? Has anyone found that they still feel safe in their staging area even if there are people hunting 1/4 mile or 1/2 mile away? I'm assuming the shotgun blasts will have quite a negative impact, and the deer will be far less likely to get up during daylight hours. However I've also thought that if they feel safe where they are, the still might get up and move a short distance. I'm trying to decide whether or not some of these beds are worth my time. Thoughts?

dan
Site Owner
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HuntingBeast/?ref=bookmarks

Re: Waterfowl and Pheasant hunting effects...

Unread postby dan » Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:34 am

For me it gets better when the duck and pheasant hunters enter the marsh... They really push those bucks into predictable locations where both pheasant and duck hunters rarely go... Yes, despite the gun fire, bucks still move within there safe zone.
When I shot my buck last week I had a squirrel hunter shooting a .22 like crazy about 200 yards away while 4 bucks got out of there beds and started to stage past me.
Lockdown

Unread postby Lockdown » Sun Sep 28, 2014 5:14 am