What if you can't find beds, but still want to hunt????

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

christian1
500 Club

What if you can't find beds, but still want to hunt????

Unread postby christian1 » Wed Mar 19, 2014 8:47 am

The thought has occurred to me that since I am very new to this whole game, I may not have a whole bunch of beds to hunt this fall. I have kept a log and to date I have over 9 hours of walking/scouting in this year. While this is not nearly the end, my success per hour is very, very low--like dismal.

With all that considered and given the fact that I do like to hunt--what are my options? Guessing on bedding? This has not proved to be very successful while scouting. Yes, there is hunting funnels during the rut, but outside of that what are my options. Am I just jumping the gun by expecting I won't be successful at finding beds this year? Just seems at this point I better have a plan B.

chris

dan
Site Owner
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HuntingBeast/?ref=bookmarks

Re: What if you can't find beds, but still want to hunt????

Unread postby dan » Wed Mar 19, 2014 8:58 am

I am willing to say, successful or not, with only one scouting season under your belt your going to be short on beds to hunt... I can make pretty good and accurate guesses, but I have been doing it a while and would not expect you to be able to do that 1 season in most likely...
What has worked well for me is to walk the transition lines, especially remote ones that don't get a lot of human activity and walk the edge till I find good buck sign coming out of the thick side and set up... Transitions are often close to bedding and this has paid off many times for me.
Its still a lot better than sitting the same stands over and over, or over the top of food....
christian1
500 Club

Unread postby christian1 » Wed Mar 19, 2014 9:26 am