Suggestions

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

MnHunter

Suggestions

Unread postby MnHunter » Tue Sep 17, 2013 7:17 am

Hi there,

Bowhunting started this weekend here in MN and I had an opportunity to get out yesterday. I am new to bowhunting - Yesterday was my first time ever in the woods with a bow and I took it old school... I am a poor 25 year old who graduated college and am trying to pay my school loans off so I don't have access to the latest and greatest equipment. I am using a 6 year old hand me down Bear Instinct and do not have a tree stand. The wind was right for this particular spot yesterday so I decided to sit behind some cover on a log. I ended up seeing a yearling spike but that was it.

Now my question... I pulled the card from my camera that is in the SE corner of the property and was extremely surprised. I have had that camera in the same spot for the last month and a half and have gotten a few pictures here and there with one shooter buck. When I got home and checked the camera... there was over 300 pictures of deer over a 2 week period with numerous shooter bucks and many more with potential.

How do I move forward with this?? I do not want to over hunt that spot and have not found exactly where they are coming from... I'm sorry for such a general question but just looking for anything that might help me in taking my first deer with a bow!

Again... The camera is set up on the SE corner of the property but I dont believe they are coming from the west woods. A lot of pictures look like they are coming from the bean field on the east which i cannot hunt.

Stanley
Honorary Moderator
Facebook: None

Re: Suggestions

Unread postby Stanley » Tue Sep 17, 2013 8:41 am

Is that a tree line or fence line next to the corn? Is north up? Can you tell us what the colors all represent? This would include the circles? You have permission to hunt what? Thanks