Unique experiences while hunting deer in the stand

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

lynchpin

Unique experiences while hunting deer in the stand

Unread postby lynchpin » Thu Jul 25, 2013 3:46 pm

We have all experienced odd or crazy things in everyday life, but what about sitting on the stand? I would like to hear some stories ... it's getting close to that time of year again and would love to hear some interesting happenings on the stand. Tell us what you got...even if it is a little embarrassing

I don't have anything too crazy myself, but my most recent unique experience was while hunting state land here in Iowa. It was 2008 - my first year of bow hunting in 15 years. I was a novice - as the story reveals. Ten minutes outside of town there is large state park - used primarily for hiking and canoe access. The property has a lot of recreational use, but approximately 400 - 500 acres are reserved for hunting. With my enthusiasm for hunting at an all-time high, I ventured into the woods. Unfortunately, I neglected to review the hiking trail maps... and came to regret it. I entered the state land at the far side of the property - hoping to stay away from foot traffic. Well you guessed it - I managed to position myself in a tree within 40 yards of a hiking path. It was early October, so with the vegetation still thick, I didn't realize the trail was within eye-shot from my tree stand. Settled in and ready for the hunt, within twenty minutes I began to see quite a bit of activity - of the human kind! As I watched in embarrassment, two hikers ran their dogs, bird watchers... bird watched, and two hippy college students filled the forest air with the fragrance of dope and non-stop giggling. As I watched this display of humanity, part of me felt that I should alert the people I was there...but I remained quite - just as if I were watching deer. To my surprise, even with a