Potential beds?

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

admiral04

Potential beds?

Unread postby admiral04 » Mon Mar 04, 2013 10:39 am

Today i walked a transition line in a swamp ive never been in before. Im new to bed hunting and i know its difficult to determine during the winter with snow on but i snapped a couple pics of spots that jumped out and then marked them with a blue dot on an aerial. I may be way off. Just looking for your thoughts, tips, etc. practice makes perfect. In this first spot there was no real reason other than when i saw this funky tree on high ground on the transition line it just made me think "thats where i'd be". There was one low rub i found ab 20 yds to the west Image Image Image this next spot was also higher ground and had some branches broke and rubbed next to this pine sappling, there was another rub 20yds away and then A couple more every 10-20yds in a straight line heading toward the creek (ssw)Image Image

[ Post made via iPhone ] Image

dan
Site Owner
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HuntingBeast/?ref=bookmarks

Re: Potential beds?

Unread postby dan » Mon Mar 04, 2013 11:17 am

I am fairly confidant the top one is a buck bed... Not sure on the bottom one.
admiral04

Unread postby admiral04 » Mon Mar 04, 2013 11:23 am

dan wrote:I am fairly confidant the top one is a buck bed... Not sure on the bottom one.
dan can i ask what leads you to think that about the first pic? Is it because of how concealed the tree makes the "bed" or is it the fact that its on transition line or what leads you to think this and how would you setup on it?

dan
Site Owner

Unread postby dan » Mon Mar 04, 2013 11:45 am

admiral04 wrote:
dan wrote:I am fairly confidant the top one is a buck bed... Not sure on the bottom one.