Real buck bed/upcoming fall hunt learning thread

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

virginiashadow
500 Club

Real buck bed/upcoming fall hunt learning thread

Unread postby virginiashadow » Thu Jun 24, 2010 8:34 am

Please guys, feel free to post topos of your off-season discoveries in this thread so we can all learn. I am going to present one scenario I am faced with this upcoming season. I am new to trying to find deer beds and mature buck beds in general. This off-season I believe I found a bed of a 2.5 year old buck, which would make him a 3.5 year old come fall. The size of the bed and the slightly lower than mid-section rubs tipped me off to such. I know he survived because I found his bed a week after the hunting season, after it had snowed 8-10 inches. I labelled up a map. What is weird (maybe not for some of you guys) is that this buck is bedded by the most pressured area on this particular area. I bet he could literally hear the doors of the hunting vehicles close and could bug out once he felt like he was pressured in the least.

Right across the creek is a large no hunting area that is meshed into this particular 1,000 acre area I scouted thoroughly this off-season (probably 25-30 hours alone I scouted this one area). I bet that buck when he feels pressured just bolts down that hill, crosses the creek (too tough for people to cross) and goes up the hill into the no hunting zone.

I have been watching the Hill Country DVD and Marsh Bucks DVD's over and over and have finally realized I am a little confused as how to set up EXACTLY in regards to a known buck bedding spot given a specific wind. I heard Dan speak a lot about staging areas, or areas 50-100 yards off a bucks bed where he comes out 30-60 minutes before sundown. I want to know how to set up so he cannot see me or hear me, and yet still be in the game when it comes to primetime in the afternoon.