Alpha or assault

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

huntinsonovagun

Alpha or assault

Unread postby huntinsonovagun » Wed Aug 15, 2012 2:42 pm

Ive been hunting out of a saddle for the past two years and while I find it "ok" I don't think it's the best thing going for me. My reason for using the saddle was mobility, but I think it may actually slow me down a bit and cause me to take in a little more gear. Which leads me to the idea of a new stand purchase. I've had no issues hunting from smaller stands previously, (even though I'm 6'4") but can't make my mind up between these two. I do like keeping weight down, but it is just a 3 lb difference. I'll most likely keep my saddle to have in my bag of tricks if needed. Any thoughts?

[ Post made via iPad ] Image

DropTyne
500 Club

Re: Alpha or assault

Unread postby DropTyne » Wed Aug 15, 2012 2:45 pm

Alpha. I am 6'2", you will like the extra room, trust me. Unless you're trekking some serious miles the 3 lb difference is moot.
DROPTYNE

"Obsessed is a Word the Lazy Use to Describe the Dedicated"
backstraps

Unread postby backstraps » Wed Aug 15, 2012 2:55 pm

huntinsonovagun wrote: (even though I'm 6'4") but can't make my mind up between these two. I do like keeping weight down, but it is just a 3 lb difference.

[ Post made via iPad ] Image

We are about the same size I imagine. I sold my Alpha due to comfort reasons. I also do not have any problem with a smaller platform. That being said, I would still lilke to have an Assault with a better cusion.
jonsimoneau
500 Club

Unread postby jonsimoneau » Wed Aug 15, 2012 4:43 pm