Simple Question

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

j87harris

Simple Question

Unread postby j87harris » Sun Aug 05, 2012 5:13 am

I am extremely new to THE BEAST site and this style of hunting. I have not had much help learning in my hunting career and am a little confused on some of the terminology used on this site.

So....
What exactly is the "leeward" side of a ridge that I read so much about?

And any other terminology that is used here frequently that you could define would be awesome and definately help my learning/understanding.

Jake

Bowhunting Brian
500 Club

Re: Simple Question

Unread postby Bowhunting Brian » Sun Aug 05, 2012 5:18 am

it's the side of the ridge the that is on the opposite side of where the wind is coming from. so on a north south running ridge, if the wind is coming from the west, the east side would be the leeward side. the deer sit on the leeward side to get in the "thermal tunnel" created by the wind current and the thermals.
j87harris

Unread postby j87harris » Sun Aug 05, 2012 5:26 am

Oh... Thank you Brian. That definition just clicked in my head and now I have a better understanding.

Correct me if I am wrong (anyone)

On a N to S ridge with the wind out of the W blowing E

Deer like the "leeward" side because the scent traveling through the bottoms and up the ridge from the W can be detected as the wind falls (at about the top 1/3 line) (ever notice thats where most mushrooms are found??) and the thermals bring the scent up from the bottom that the wind is not blowing across so when these thermals meet the wind it creates a wind "tunnel" that will run the length of the ridge? Meaning the deer are technically smelling from 3 directions leaving only 1 direction they need to keep an eye on?

Thank you,

Jake
backstraps

Unread postby backstraps » Sun Aug 05, 2012 5:37 am