Trail Cameras

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

JakeJD
500 Club

Trail Cameras

Unread postby JakeJD » Wed Jan 18, 2012 11:05 am

I would like to purchase a trail cam before next season. The problem is that I have never used one before, and I really don't have any idea what is available. I have read many reviews online (chasingame, trailcampro, cabelas, etc.) so I have an idea of the features I would like. Here are the features I am looking for:

-AA batteries with at least 6 month battery life.
-IR flash (to prevent theft) maybe black flash (for spooking game) depending on price.
-I would also like to receive photos on my email depending on price / hassle. But, we do not have AT&T or T-mobile around here so that might not be possible.
-I would like to buy a tree mount (EZ mount) so I can set the camera about 10-12 ft up to reduce likelihood of theft / spooking game. Are there any cameras that do not fit a tree mount?

I plan to use the camera to monitor mineral sites, mock scrapes, scrapes and certain travel routes. I envision keeping the camera in certain areas the entire hunting season to see how, why, and when deer use a certain area (small woodlot or bed). I also envision using a camera at mineral sites and heavy trails to get an inventory of bucks in July / August. Maybe using the camera during the season at certain pinch points or travel corridors to catch daytime movement (like in Dan's first EWT video).

Thanks in advance, Jake

"In the deed, the glory"
jlh42581
500 Club

Re: Trail Cameras

Unread postby jlh42581 » Wed Jan 18, 2012 11:25 am

You can modify a primos 20/20 mount to fit any cam. If you wanna see how, I can take some pics. Most cams come with a tripod hole and lots of mounts exist for those.