Thank you Beasts

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Z7WIBoy

Thank you Beasts

Unread postby Z7WIBoy » Thu Dec 22, 2011 6:02 am

I just wanted to thank all of you for posting info, tips, and tricks. I have been more of a lurker here as I am new to this hunting style and have not yet starting scouting as hunting season is still in swing and have not shot a deer yet - time is limited as I blew all my hunting time during the rut with the wife. In St. Croix county we have tons of farmland/prairie - mainly flat - definitely not hill country. There is several acres that a farmer uses for share cropping and in the middle of it is a dried up swamp with cat tails and switch grass. I was taking the kids for a atv ride the other day and decided to check out this swamp - just poking around. Low and behold a buck bed (I will get pictures up after the Holidays as time is limited and my 2 year old twin boys wanted nothing to do with walking in a swamp). I know the buck well that uses this, he has to be about 5 now as I missed him in my back yard 2 years ago chasing does on Halloween (that is another story that all of you will probably laugh at for another day - maybe the scouting trip in the spring with Dan).
The funny thing is that this bed is in a swamp 20 yards by 70 yards - I would have never thought a buck would be in there but now it makes sense. This bed is only used in the summer and fall before the crops are out - then his cover goes away. I am pretty sure it is a bed since it looks a lot like the ones from BigHunts scouting trip. I just now need to get permission to bowhunt it as I have permission to turkey hunt and ride my atv on the fields once they are picked. Already picked the tree and made my entrance route (cart before the horse I know but this got me excited).