Experiences are better shared with your Kids! Pilgrim's 10 Point

Share and Showcase your hunting success stories.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

pilgrimhunter

Experiences are better shared with your Kids! Pilgrim's 10 Point

Unread postby pilgrimhunter » Wed Dec 06, 2017 4:19 am

This year has been a tough one for me in a lot of ways. I had come across the Hunting Beast Jan 2017. I have been hunting for 20 years and have taken quite a few whitetails but hadn't been very consistent with mature bucks. I had watched a lot of Midwest Whitetails shows in 2016 and it really had helped with my approach to hunting in 2016. The info on The Hunting Beast is what really turned on some light bulbs for me and connected some puzzle pieces. And then my wife was was diagnosed with Lyme's in the summer of 2017 and really struggled with her health. This has really hindered her ability to care for our 4 children resulting in fewer hunts for me as I was needed at home.

Although I had limited time to hunt I was able to get on some good deer but never was able to get them into bow range.

One thing I really wanted to do more this year was take my children along to the woods. I hadn't taken them during bow season but with our rifle season in I was able to get them involved. November 21 it was my 5 year old sons turn to go. I managed to get off work early and elected to go to a farm close by home. I didn't have high expectations although I know historically the farm does hold some good deer. It is large pasture but has a good section of cut over that is full of briers and brush.
The farm holds a lot of does but I also noticed last year as the rut wound down there were was a decent buck bedding in there. In fact I had several opportunities at him but elected to pass him up hoping he would be back again this year. And actually managed to get a few pics of him through my rifle scope.