Target buck beat me but scored on a different PA Stud

Share and Showcase your hunting success stories.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

xpauliber
500 Club

Target buck beat me but scored on a different PA Stud

Unread postby xpauliber » Thu Nov 09, 2017 12:43 am

My obsession started the night of the solar eclipse when I went out shining and saw this buck I nicknamed "Wheel" because the tines on his right side looked like spokes on a wheel when I first saw him.

[img]https://www.snapfish.com/library/photos?website=snapfish_us&cobrand=snapfish&locale=en_US#state={"pgvw":"siav","aid":122819094212070}[/img]

He was on a property I've been hunting for a few years and know pretty well. I can't learn everything about the deer movement there because it's bordered by posted land, some of which includes some prime thick bedding areas. Anyways, he ran down into a bottom that I can hunt so I immediately went the next day and hung a cam in an area that I thought he may be hanging out in. In two weeks, I got one picture of him but that picture was at 12:31pm and he was heading up onto a thick pine top. I thought that I knew where his bedding area was! I stayed out of there until season opener on September 30th. I "KNEW" he was bedding up high, so my plan was to sneak in from the downwind side, get about 75-100 yards from where I thought he was bedding and setup on the FIRST buck sign I found. Sounded like a great plan but I never found ANY sign. I got about 100 yards from where my cam was setup and I was right in the bottom going super slow in full Beast mode. I found what I thought was a decent looking trail and stopped to setup a cam. I just closed the door on the cam, picked my bow up and took 3 more steps and he busted from his bed 20 yards from where I was.....I instantly thought "Bump n Dump" but you can't hunt on Sundays in PA :cry: :cry: :cry: