Lets talk about taxidermy. The good and bad.

Discussions about learning taxidermy & picking taxidermist.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

mainebowhunter
500 Club

Lets talk about taxidermy. The good and bad.

Unread postby mainebowhunter » Sun May 29, 2016 8:47 am

Lets put up some mounts and tell me what you like about them...what you don't like about them. Its tough. I am super picky ...probably a bit too much. My degree is in commercial illustration and I was in the top of my art classes in college. Done a lot of drawing and painting. So angles, proportions, eyes, ears...neck size, if there is anything wrong, they stick out like a sore thumb to me. Probably that stuff sticks out to me more than poor craftsmanship skills.

It seems to be a complaint of a lot of people that the mount comes back much smaller than the original deer. Is that the fault of the taxidermist? Or is it just the nature of the beast? Do guys just remember the animal in a photo so much bigger than it really is? Another thing I notice, somethings like neck muscles are really emphasized by some taxidermist...even though in a trail cam pic or on the hoof, deer don't necessarily look like that.

I know some of you guys do taxidermy work...so feel free to chime in. Really be good to hear some different perspectives.

DaveT1963
500 Club

Re: Lets talk about taxidermy. The good and bad.

Unread postby DaveT1963 » Sun May 29, 2016 9:12 am

Show me your skin mount fish and I can usually tell......

[ Post made via Android ] Image
mainebowhunter
500 Club

Unread postby mainebowhunter » Sun May 29, 2016 9:23 am

DaveT1963 wrote:Show me your skin mount fish and I can usually tell......

LOL...I don't do taxidermy!
purebowhunting
500 Club

Unread postby purebowhunting » Sun May 29, 2016 9:47 am

I'm not real picky about my mounts, I had 3 done professionally and I did my own this year. The guy I had do the first three does good work and I can't pick out anything odd.