Broad head for elk/moose?

Elk, Moose, Pronghorn, African Game, ect. Behaviors, Hunting Stories, Pictures, Tactics, Q&A.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

vtbuck
500 Club

Broad head for elk/moose?

Unread postby vtbuck » Tue Apr 11, 2017 7:31 am

My plans for a diy archery elk hunt in 2020 have me thinking about a lot of things. One question is how much do I need to beef up my archery tackle? I shoot 30" 400 grain trophy ridge arrows tipped with 100 grain grim reaper razortips.
Will this work or what do guys suggest looking at?

Perfection is a dream, practice is hard work, and achieving a goal is making that goal a reality.
matt1336
500 Club

Re: Broad head for elk/moose?

Unread postby matt1336 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 9:32 am

I'm no expert but I'd think you'd want as much KE as possible. That means no mechanicals and a heavy arrow.....right?
muddy

Unread postby muddy » Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:00 am

I'd get some heavier arrows and cut on contract heads. Might even think about brass inserts to give you some extra weight. Keep these arrows separate from your whitetail setup and practice separately.
http://www.iowawhitetail.com
Leading the way for habitat and management information

"It's a good thing you don't need commas and colons to kill deer" -seaz
stash59

Unread postby stash59 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:28 pm

Yeah a heavier FOC is better. Along with cut on contacts. That being said. I killed all of my elk with 100 grain Muzzys on 2117 XX75 shafts. Don't know the actual weight but it's light and not much FOC. And I know alot of guys that used or are still using mechanicals.

Hit 'em in the boiler room and they go down. I admit I never got my broadhead to punch through the opposite side though. So my bloodtrails were sparse. But all of the ones hit in the lungs dropped in less than 80 yards.